Expert on
pests
portal about pests and methods of dealing with them

Why are insects attracted to light?

99 views
1 minutes. for reading

If you've spent time in your backyard or porch on a summer evening, you've likely seen insects flying around porch lights, street lights, or even fire flames. Some insects, such as moths, seem to be naturally drawn to and fascinated by these light sources, sometimes even colliding with the bulbs. So why do these bugs love light?

Although this behavior is known to flying insects such as flies and moths, scientists have not been able to figure out exactly why the insects are attracted to light. However, they have put forward several theories as to why the bugs behave this way.

Beetles use light to navigate

One of the most popular theories is that insects rely on light sources to guide their travel and movement. Many believe that insects use natural light sources such as the moon or sun to help them navigate, much like sailors relied on the stars to guide their ships. So, when a bug sees the light on your porch, it flies to the source. However, if a moth or fly mistakes your porch light for the sun or moon, it can easily become confused and circle around the source.

Beetles are looking for food

Many moths feed on the nectar of flowers, which are known to reflect ultraviolet (UV) light. Some light bulbs emit a small amount of ultraviolet light, which can cause hungry insects to mistake the light bulb for a flower.

Beetles trying to escape from predators

Another theory for why insects are attracted to light is that in the wild, light signals the insects' flight from potential danger. When the insect sees the light, it can tell them that the path is not blocked by a predator or obstacles. This may explain why pests fly straight towards light sources, unknowingly crashing into light bulbs and lanterns.

Looking for food

Finally, others believe that insects are attracted to porch lights and fires because they know other insects are too. These creatures can be predators looking for food, or suitors looking for a mate.

So why are insects attracted to light? The thing is, we don't yet have a simple answer to this question. In the meantime, these theories will have to be done!

Previous
Interesting FactsWhat is the largest insect in the world?
The next
Interesting FactsWhat blood type do mosquitoes like?
Super
0
Interestingly
0
Poorly
0
Comments

Without Cockroaches

×

Почему насекомых привлекает свет?

132 просмотра
1 мин. на чтение

Если вы проводили время на заднем дворе или на крыльце летним вечером, вы, вероятно, видели насекомых, летающих вокруг фонарей крыльца, уличных фонарей или даже пламени костра. Некоторые насекомые, такие как мотыльки, кажется, естественным образом тянутся к этим источникам света и заворожены ими, иногда даже сталкиваясь с лампочками. Итак, почему эти жуки любят свет?

Хотя такое поведение известно летающим насекомым, таким как мухи и мотыльки, ученым не удалось точно выяснить, почему насекомых привлекает свет. Однако они выдвинули несколько теорий относительно того, почему ошибки ведут себя таким образом.

Жуки используют свет для навигации

Одна из самых популярных теорий заключается в том, что насекомые полагаются на источники света, которые направляют их путешествия и передвижение. Многие полагают, что насекомые используют естественные источники света, такие как луна или солнце, чтобы помочь им ориентироваться, подобно тому, как моряки полагались на звезды, чтобы направлять свои корабли. Итак, когда насекомое видит свет на вашем крыльце, оно летит к источнику. Однако, если мотылек или муха примут свет на вашем крыльце за солнце или луну, они могут легко запутаться и начать кружить вокруг источника.

Жуки ищут еду

Многие мотыльки питаются нектаром цветов, которые, как известно, отражают ультрафиолетовый (УФ) свет. Некоторые лампочки излучают небольшое количество ультрафиолета, из-за чего голодные насекомые могут принять лампочку за цветок.

Жуки пытаются спастись от хищников

Другая теория того, почему насекомых привлекает свет, заключается в том, что в дикой природе свет сигнализирует о бегстве насекомых от потенциальной опасности. Когда насекомое видит свет, оно может сказать им, что путь не заблокирован хищником или препятствиями. Это может объяснить, почему вредители летят прямо на источники света, бессознательно врезаясь в лампочки и фонари.

В поисках еды

Наконец, другие полагают, что насекомых привлекают фонари на крыльце и костры, потому что они знают, что и другие насекомые тоже. Эти твари могут быть хищниками, ищущими еду, или женихами, ищущими себе пару.

Итак, почему насекомых привлекает свет? Дело в том, что у нас пока нет простого ответа на этот вопрос. А пока эти теории придется сделать!

Предыдущая
Интересные фактыКакое самое большое насекомое в мире?
Следующая
Интересные фактыКакую группу крови любят комары
Супер
0
Интересно
0
Плохо
0
Обсуждения

Без Тараканов

×