Interesting facts about the Tasmanian wombat

96 views
4 minutes. for reading
We found 12 interesting facts about the Tasmanian wombat

Animal excreting cubes

The wombat is a herbivorous mammal native to southeastern Australia. This is the only marsupial whose teeth constantly grow, and its excrement is unique in the world because it looks like small cubes.

1

The Tasmanian wombat (Vombatus ursinus) is a species of mammal from the wombat family (Vombatidae).

Wombats are a family of mammals in the order Diprotodontia, probably closely related to koalas.

2

There are two modern types of wombats.

  • Wombatus - a wombat - the only representative of which is the Tasmanian wombat.
  • Lasiorhinus - Wombat Bat - This genus includes two species: the broad-headed wombat bat and the rough-headed wombat bat.

3

The Tasmanian wombat inhabits Australia from the borders of Queensland and New South Wales along the Victorian Deserts to the south-eastern tip of Australia and Tasmania.

Its three subspecies:

  • Vombatus usinus ursinus - found on Flinders Island in Bass Strait (between Australia and Tasmania).
  • Vombatus ursinus hirsutus - found in the south-eastern part of mainland Australia.
  • Vombatus ursinus tasmaniensis - found in Tasmania.

4

The wombat is similar in appearance to a badger and has uniform gray fur.

Australian scientists examined wombats (and long-eared ones) under ultraviolet light and found that under a black light lamp their fur shimmered in shades of green, blue and pink. When ultraviolet light falls on their fur in the dark, marsupials and monotremes look as if they were painted with “luminous” paints. In recent years, it has been discovered that biofluorescence is more common among mammals than previously thought (flying squirrels have pink fur when exposed to ultraviolet light). It is not yet known what causes this or what significance it has in their lives, but it is believed that it may be related to their nocturnal lifestyle.

5

Wombats are animals with a strong build and short legs.

They reach a length of 90-115 cm, and a body weight of 22-40 kg. They have a thick, wide head and a vestigial tail. The wombat's large head has small eyes. His vision is poor, but his sense of smell, hearing and vibration are well developed. Long, sensitive hair grows around the nose. The croup is covered with thick, keratinized skin. Their teeth lack fangs. Wombats are marsupials, they have a nesting pouch (marsupium), which, unlike kangaroos, opens backwards - the cubs enter the pouch from the mother's rump. This prevents the cubs from getting dirty while digging holes. There are two pacifiers in the bag.

6

These are herbivores.

They have a digestive system adapted to eating tough vegetation: a simple stomach, a wide, short cecum and an extremely slow metabolism. It takes them 14 days to complete a full digestive cycle, so they are not very active animals. They can go without drinking for several weeks, during which time they obtain water from the plants they eat.

7

Wombats usually feed at night.

They are the only marsupials in the world whose teeth constantly grow because they are constantly worn down. The wombat bites off food using rapid movements of the lower jaw, its teeth are different from other marsupials, they are more similar to the teeth of rodents. The main component of their diet is local grasses. They also eat roots, bark and leaves of trees and shrubs.

8

They reach sexual maturity at the age of 18 months.

The mating season lasts from April to June. After 20-22 days of pregnancy, one calf is born, which remains in the brood pouch for 6-7 months, and even after that does not leave it for another three to four months. The cub feeds on mother's milk for about 15 months. After leaving the pouch, the cubs continue to cling to their mother for the first year of life or longer until they are completely covered in fur.

9

Wombats are a solitary, territorial species, with each individual having a specific habitat in which it lives and feeds.

They dig a system of burrows with many exits in the ground or under limestone rocks. They dig holes with their front paws, equipped with long and sharp claws. Corridors can be up to 20 m long. Recent bushfires in eastern and south-eastern Australia have shown that burrows are often much longer than originally thought, with some having more than 20 entrances, and that many wombat burrows have been used by other species, including rock wallaby and swamp wallaby, which take shelter from the fire. It is unknown whether this was done with the consent of the “owner” of the hole.

10

Several wombats can live in the same burrow, and wombats usually live in the same burrow throughout their lives.

It may happen that the wombat is thrown out of the hole by farmers or another animal, or the hole is destroyed. Wombats often emerge from their burrows during the day if the day is cool, in the early morning or late afternoon. Their habitat is arid open areas.

11

Wombats live on average 15 years in the wild and 20 years in captivity.

The species is not threatened with extinction except in the Victoria region. Despite this, it was decided to limit the hunting of these animals.

12

Wombats are the only species in the world that defecate in cubic shapes.

There have been many theories about what this is for. Some argue that this makes it easier for wombats to mark territory - cube-shaped excrement will not roll off, for example, from a sloping stone. Another theory is that this is because their food contains very little water as they live in very dry conditions. This theory is supported by the fact that wombats living in captivity (in zoos), where they have access to more water, produce more spherical feces. 

However, research by scientists has proven that wombats have a specific large intestine, especially its first part, which has a flattened upper and lower wall that forms feces into cubes. The second, final section of the intestine remains smooth and retains its previously formed shape.

Previous
Interesting FactsInteresting facts about the shoebill
The next
Interesting FactsInteresting facts about seals
Super
0
Interestingly
0
Poorly
0
Comments

Without Cockroaches

×

Интересные факты о тасманском вомбате

133 просмотра
4 мин. на чтение
Мы нашли 12 интересные факты о тасманском вомбате

Животное, выделяющее кубики

Вомбат — травоядное млекопитающее, обитающее на юго-востоке Австралии. Это единственное сумчатое животное, у которого постоянно растут зубы, а его экскременты уникальны в мире, поскольку имеют вид маленьких кубиков.

1

Тасманский вомбат (Vombatus ursinus) — вид млекопитающих из семейства вомбатов (Vombatidae).

Вомбаты — семейство млекопитающих из отряда Diprotodontia, вероятно, тесно связанных с коалами.

2

Существует два современных типа вомбатов.

  • Вомбатус – вомбат – единственным представителем которого является тасманский вомбат.
  • Lasiorhinus — летучая мышь-вомбат — этот род включает два вида: широкоголовую летучую мышь-вомбат и грубоголовую летучую мышь-вомбат.

3

Тасманийский вомбат населяет Австралию от границ Квинсленда и Нового Южного Уэльса вдоль пустынь Виктория до юго-восточной оконечности Австралии и Тасмании.

Его три подвида:

  • Vombatus usinus ursinus — найден на острове Флиндерс в Бассовом проливе (между Австралией и Тасманией).
  • Vombatus ursinus hirsutus — встречается в юго-восточной части материковой Австралии.
  • Vombatus ursinus tasmaniensis — встречается на Тасмании.

4

Вомбат внешне похож на барсука и имеет однородный серый мех.

Австралийские ученые осмотрели вомбатов (и ушастых) под ультрафиолетовым светом и обнаружили, что под лампой черного света их мех переливается оттенками зеленого, синего и розового. Когда в темноте на их мех падает ультрафиолет, сумчатые и однопроходные выглядят так, будто их раскрасили «светящимися» красками. В последние годы было обнаружено, что биофлуоресценция более распространена среди млекопитающих, чем считалось ранее (белки-летяги имеют розовый мех под воздействием ультрафиолетового света). Пока неизвестно, что является причиной этого и какое значение это имеет в их жизни, но предполагается, что это может быть связано с их ночным образом жизни.

5

Вомбаты – животные крепкого телосложения и коротких ног.

В длину они достигают 90-115 см, а масса тела 22-40 кг. У них толстая, широкая голова и рудиментарный хвост. У большой головы вомбата маленькие глаза. Зрение у него плохое, но обоняние, слух и вибрация развиты хорошо. Вокруг носа растут длинные чувствительные волосы. Круп покрыт толстой ороговевшей кожей. В их зубах отсутствуют клыки. Вомбаты — сумчатые животные, у них есть гнездовая сумка (marsupium), которая, в отличие от кенгуру, открывается назад — детеныши попадают в сумку с крупа матери. Это предохраняет детенышей от попадания грязи во время рытья нор. В сумке две соски.

6

Это травоядные животные.

У них есть пищеварительная система, приспособленная к поеданию жесткой растительности: простой желудок, широкая короткая слепая кишка и чрезвычайно медленный обмен веществ. Для завершения полного пищеварительного цикла им требуется 14 дней, поэтому они не очень активные животные. Они могут обходиться без питья в течение нескольких недель, в течение этого времени они получают воду из растений, которые едят.

7

Вомбаты обычно кормятся ночью.

Это единственные сумчатые в мире, зубы которых постоянно растут, потому что постоянно стираются. Вомбат откусывает пищу с помощью быстрых движений нижней челюсти, его зубы отличаются от других сумчатых, они больше похожи на зубы грызунов. Основным компонентом их рациона являются местные травы. Они также поедают корни, кору и листья деревьев и кустарников.

8

Половой зрелости они достигают в возрасте 18 месяцев.

Брачный сезон длится с апреля по июнь. Через 20-22 дня беременности рождается один детеныш, который остается в выводковой сумке 6-7 месяцев, и даже после этого не покидает ее еще три-четыре месяца. Детёныш питается молоком матери около 15 месяцев. Покинув сумку, детеныши продолжают цепляться за мать в течение первого года жизни или дольше, пока полностью не покроются мехом.

9

Вомбаты — одиночный территориальный вид, где у каждой особи есть определенный ареал, на котором она живет и питается.

Они роют систему нор со множеством выходов в земле или под известняковыми скалами. Норы они роют передними лапами, снабженными длинными и острыми когтями. Длина коридоров может достигать 20 м. Недавние лесные пожары в восточной и юго-восточной Австралии показали, что норы часто намного длиннее, чем первоначально предполагалось, причем некоторые из них имеют более 20 входов, и что многие норы вомбатов использовались другими видами, в том числе каменный валлаби и болотный валлаби, которые укрываются от огня. Неизвестно, было ли это сделано с согласия «хозяина» норы.

10

В одной норе могут жить несколько вомбатов, и вомбаты обычно живут в одной норе на протяжении всей своей жизни.

Может случиться так, что вомбата выбросят из норы фермеры или другое животное, либо нора будет разрушена. Вомбаты часто выходят из своих нор днем, если день прохладный, ранним утром или ближе к вечеру. Среда их обитания – засушливые открытые местности.

11

Вомбаты живут в среднем 15 лет в дикой природе и 20 лет в неволе.

Виду не грозит исчезновение, за исключением региона Виктория. Несмотря на это, было принято решение ограничить охоту на этих животных.

12

Вомбаты — единственные виды в мире, которые испражняются в форме кубических кубиков.

Было много теорий о том, для чего это нужно. Некоторые утверждают, что так вомбатам легче метить территорию – экскременты кубической формы не скатятся, например, с наклонного камня. Другая теория гласит, что это происходит потому, что в их пище очень мало воды, поскольку они живут в очень засушливых условиях. Эту теорию подтверждает тот факт, что вомбаты, живущие в неволе (в зоопарках), где у них есть доступ к большему количеству воды, выделяют испражнения более сферической формы. 

Однако исследования ученых доказали, что у вомбатов имеется специфический толстый кишечник, особенно его первая часть, имеющая уплощенную верхнюю и нижнюю стенку, формирующую кал в кубики. Второй, конечный отдел кишки остается гладким и сохраняет ранее сформированную форму.

Предыдущая
Интересные фактыИнтересные факты о китоглаве
Следующая
Интересные фактыИнтересные факты о тюленях
Супер
0
Интересно
0
Плохо
0
Обсуждения

Без Тараканов

×