Interesting facts about the Eurasian moose

107 views
7 minutes. for reading
We found 19 interesting facts about moose

Alses Alses

The moose is the largest and heaviest living mammal in the deer family and one of the largest land mammals in the northern hemisphere.

It usually inhabits boreal forests and deciduous and mixed forests of temperate and subarctic zones in the northern hemisphere. Human activity has caused the elk's range to shrink over time. It has been reintroduced to some of its former habitats and its population is increasing.

Currently, most moose are found in Canada, Alaska, New England, the Baltic countries (Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia), Finland, Poland, Kazakhstan and Russia.

The moose is the national animal of Sweden.

1

Elk (Alces) is a genus of mammals from the deer family (Cervidae).

The deer family, also called full-horned animals, includes animals with bony, full antlers. Antlers are a bone formation that grows from the frontal bone of the brain (paired process) on the head of male deer (the exceptions are reindeer, in which females also grow antlers, and swamp deer, in which there are no antlers). at all). The antlers are shed and worn every year and are the weapons needed by the bull (male deer) for self-defense and to fight for females during the mating season.

Representatives of deer include: tundra reindeer, red deer, European roe deer, European elk, fallow deer, sika deer, white-tailed deer, Indian deer.

2

Deer live in forests, forest-steppes, wetlands and tundra on all continents except Australia (the species found there are introduced).

They live both on the plains and in the mountains.

3

All types of deer are herbivores.

They usually live in herds; males of some species, usually older, choose a solitary lifestyle.

4

Moose live in the wild in Europe, Asia and North America.

Their highest concentrations are observed on the Scandinavian Peninsula, forests of Siberia, Canada and Alaska. In Poland, it is found in the Masurian Lake District, Mazowieckie Lowland, Podlasie and Białowieża Forest and, above all, in the Kampinos Forest (the logo of the Kampinos National Park contains an image of a moose).

Lonely, nomadic individuals can be found throughout the country.

5

The genus Alces (elk) includes two species: the Eurasian elk (Alces alces) and the American elk (Alces americanus).

The Eurasian moose is the largest living species of ungulate mammal, distinguished by its impressive antlers and exceptionally long limbs.

The elk found in Poland is a subspecies of A. a. alces (European elk). This is the largest game animal living in Poland.

To learn more …

6

The oldest description of moose in European literature comes not from the northern regions, but from the Roman Empire, from Julius Caesar.

European paintings and cave paintings indicate that moose were hunted as early as the Stone Age. Some of the earliest hunts of these animals took place in Northern Europe, as evidenced by excavations in Alby (Sweden), where elk antlers were found in wooden huts built about 6 years ago BC. Numerous remains of complex pit traps built 4 years ago have also been found in Scandinavia. years BC in which these animals were caught.

7

Elk are one of the largest land mammals in the Northern Hemisphere.

Its body length is 2,4-3,1 m (the male is larger than the female). The height at the withers is 1,5-2,34 m, and the body weight of the male (bull) can range from 540 to 740 kg, the female (elk, salmon) is shorter and lighter, reaching a weight of about 400 kg. The largest recorded specimen, found in 1897, was 2,34 m tall, weighed 825 kg, and its horns were 199 cm long.

The largest is the Alaskan gigas subspecies, which can reach a height of up to 2,3 m and a weight of up to 1,1 tons.

8

This is a cold-loving animal.

Temperatures of -50°C are not a problem for him, but above +10°C he begins to experience heat stress and then seeks coolness in the water, where he can stay for up to several hours. It is a very good swimmer and diver and can stay underwater for up to 50 seconds.

9

The moose's head is large and elongated, ending in a wide muzzle.

His upper lip is wide, elongated, mobile and fleshy - it serves as a grip. The slanted nostrils are directed downwards. The eyes are small(moose has poor eyesight), recognizes changes in light intensity well (dawn and dusk), ears are up to 26 cm long, with pointed ends. Neck The elk's tail is short and massive, which allows it to rotate its head over a wide range.

Hangs on the neck under the head fat growth with long black hair, the so-called Chin. A hump is visible on the back near the withers.

Legs moose are very long and strong. They end in powerful, widely extendable hooves, allowing the animal to move more easily through muddy terrain, wetlands and snow without falling through.

10

Moose have impressive antlers in the form of wide blades or stalks arranged horizontally.

Males develop scapulae at about 5 years of age, although some individuals do not develop them. Males with shovels are shovels, while males without shovels are elk moose (this form is more common in Polish moose). Well-developed horns can reach a length of up to 1,2 m with a wingspan of 2 m and a weight of up to 20 kg.

Elks shed their antlers after the mating season: older ones in November, young ones in December and January.

11

Moose move slowly and awkwardly, usually at a walk (raising both limbs on one side of the body at the same time, like a horse at a trot).

They never gallop; they can trot at a speed of 30 km/h, and for short distances at a speed of 60 km/h.

12

Moose are most active in the early morning and evening, although they feed both during the day and at night.

It does not exhibit territorial behavior and requires 10-15 km2 of area to live. Travels long distances in search of food. During winter migrations, moving from north to south, moose cover distances of up to 200 km or more.

13

The mating season for moose is called mating season.

The female, who has begun estrus, calls the male with a tearful, nasal roar. A male looking for a female does not waste time feeding and can lose up to 1/5 of his body weight during the estrus period. Estrus lasts about 4 weeks: from August to October in Eurasia and from September to November in North America.

Males compete for females, although fights between bulls in moose occur much less frequently than in other deer, and are less spectacular. The bulls line up facing each other, pick up speed with their heads down, and then lock horns together. The winner is the one who manages to push the enemy further.

14

The mating season for moose lasts from September to November.

Females become sexually mature at the age of 2 years, and males at 3 years. Pregnancy lasts 242-264 days, 1-3 cubs are born. Cubs are born red-brown, without spots. They are about 80 cm in length and the same height. They can follow their mother as early as three days after birth. Feeding the young can continue until the next estrus, but they eat solid food from the age of three months.

Half of the babies born do not survive the first two months, and those that do remain remain with their mother until the next year.

15

Moose are herbivores.

They forage and can eat many types of plants and fruits. The average adult needs to consume 9770 calories per day to maintain their weight. Moose get most of their energy from green plants, grasses, sedges, and fresh shoots of willow and birch. These plants are low in sodium, so moose readily feed on aquatic plants (lilies, pondweed) and marsh plants that contain more sodium. In winter, moose often come out onto the road to lick the salt that is sprinkled on the roads. Elk's diet varies depending on their location, but they seem to prefer young growth of high-sugar deciduous trees such as white birch, quaking aspen, and striped maple.

A typical 360 kg moose can eat up to 32 kg of food per day.

16

Moose do not have upper front teeth.

However, they have eight sharp incisors on their lower jaw. They also have a hard, rough tongue, mouth, and gums that help them eat woody foods. Moose have six pairs of large, flat molars and six pairs of premolars in front of them to grind food.

17

Moose are not grazing animals.

They, like giraffes, carefully select foods with less fiber and a higher concentration of nutrients. Unlike most ungulates, domesticated ruminants do not digest hay, and feeding hay to moose can be fatal.

18

The most dangerous natural enemy of moose is the gray wolf, which regulates the population by eating the weakest individuals.

The moose's enemies are also the brown bear and the Amur tiger, as well as humans. Since the Stone Age, people have hunted elk for their meat and hides, and used their antlers to make tools and jewelry. Moose meat is called elk meat. Moose milk contains 10-15% fat and can be used to make cheese.

Moose are easy to tame, so attempts have long been made to use these animals, for example, to obtain milk - ancient drawings depict scenes of moose milking. In the XNUMXth century in Sweden, moose were seriously considered as animals that replaced horses for postmen.

19

The Swedes used moose in the army as draft, pack and riding animals.

Since the 30s, attempts have been made to domesticate moose, initially with the aim of using them in the army (experimental moose farms were created in the USSR), as well as in agriculture. 

To learn more …

Previous
Interesting FactsInteresting facts about the Polish horse
The next
Interesting FactsInteresting facts about guinea pigs
Super
0
Interestingly
0
Poorly
0
Comments

Without Cockroaches

×

Интересные факты о евразийском лосе

145 просмотров
7 мин. на чтение
Мы нашли 19 интересные факты о лосях

Альсес Альсес

Лось — самое крупное и тяжелое из ныне живущих млекопитающих семейства оленей и одно из крупнейших наземных млекопитающих северного полушария.

Обычно он населяет бореальные леса и лиственные и смешанные леса умеренного и субарктического поясов в северном полушарии. Деятельность человека привела к тому, что ареал лося со временем уменьшился. Он был повторно интродуцирован в некоторые из своих прежних мест обитания, и его популяция увеличивается.

В настоящее время больше всего лосей встречается в Канаде, Аляске, Новой Англии, странах Балтии (Эстония, Литва, Латвия), Финляндии, Польше, Казахстане и России.

Лось – национальное животное Швеции.

1

Лось (Alces) — род млекопитающих из семейства оленей (Cervidae).

Семейство оленей, также называемое полнорогими животными, включает животных с костлявыми полными рогами. Рога — костное образование, вырастающее из лобной кости головного мозга (парного отростка) на голове оленей-самцов (исключением являются северный олень, у которого рога растут и у самок, и болотный олень, у которого рога отсутствуют). совсем). Рога сбрасывают и надевают каждый год, они являются оружием, необходимым быку (оленю-самцу) для самозащиты и борьбы за самок в брачный период.

К представителям оленей относятся: тундровый северный олень, благородный олень, европейская косуля, европейский лось, лань, пятнистый олень, белохвостый олень, индийский олень.

2

Олени обитают в лесах, лесостепях, болотистых местностях и тундре на всех континентах, кроме Австралии (обнаруженные там виды интродуцированы).

Они живут как на равнинах, так и в горах.

3

Все виды оленей травоядны.

Живут обычно стадами, самцы некоторых видов, обычно старшего возраста, выбирают одиночный образ жизни.

4

Лоси живут в дикой природе в Европе, Азии и Северной Америке.

Наибольшие их концентрации наблюдаются на Скандинавском полуострове, лесных массивах Сибири, Канады и Аляски. В Польше он встречается в Мазурском поозерье, Мазовецкой низменности, Подлясье и Беловежской пуще и, прежде всего, в Кампиносской пуще (в логотипе Кампиносского национального парка есть изображение лося).

Одиноких, кочующих особей можно встретить по всей стране.

5

Род Alces (лось) включает два вида: евразийский лось (Alces alces) и американский лось (Alces americanus).

Евразийский лось — крупнейший из ныне живущих видов копытных млекопитающих, отличающийся впечатляющими рогами и исключительно длинными конечностями.

Лось, обитающий в Польше, является подвидом A. a. alces (европейский лось). Это самое крупное охотничье животное, обитающее в Польше.

Узнать больше …

6

Древнейшее описание лося в европейской литературе происходит не из северных областей, а из Римской империи, от Юлия Цезаря.

Европейские рисунки и наскальные рисунки свидетельствуют о том, что на лосей охотились уже в каменном веке. Некоторые из самых ранних охот на этих животных происходили в Северной Европе, о чем свидетельствуют раскопки в Алби (Швеция), где в деревянных хижинах, построенных примерно 6 лет назад, лет до нашей эры были найдены лосиные рога. В Скандинавии также были найдены многочисленные остатки сложных ям-ловушек, построенных 4 лет назад. лет до нашей эры, в которых были пойманы эти животные.

7

Лось — одно из крупнейших наземных млекопитающих Северного полушария.

Длина его тела 2,4-3,1 м (самец крупнее самки). Высота в холке 1,5-2,34 м, а масса тела самца (быка) может колебаться от 540 до 740 кг, самка (лось, лосось) короче и легче, достигая массы около 400 кг. Самый крупный зарегистрированный экземпляр, найденный в 1897 году, имел рост 2,34 м, вес 825 кг, а длина его рогов составляла 199 см.

Самый крупный — аляскинский подвид гигас, который может достигать высоты до 2,3 м и веса до 1,1 тонны.

8

Это холодолюбивое животное.

Температура -50°С для него не проблема, но выше +10°С он начинает испытывать тепловой стресс и тогда ищет прохлады в воде, где может находиться до нескольких часов. Он очень хорошо плавает и ныряет и может оставаться под водой до 50 секунд.

9

Голова лося большая и удлиненная, заканчивающаяся широкой мордой.

Верхняя губа у него широкая, удлиненная, подвижная и мясистая – она служит захватом. Скошенные ноздри направлены вниз. Глаза маленькие(у лося плохое зрение), хорошо распознает изменения интенсивности света (рассвет и сумерки), уши длиной до 26 см, с заостренными концами. Шея Хвост лося короткий и массивный, что позволяет ему вращать головой в широких пределах.

Висит на шее под головой жировой рост с длинными черными волосами, так называемый Подбородок. На спине возле холки виден горб.

Ноги лоси очень длинные и сильные. Они заканчиваются мощными, широко раздвижными копытами, позволяющими животному легче передвигаться по раскисшей местности, заболоченным местам и снегу, не проваливаясь.

10

У лосей внушительные рога в форме широких лопаток или стеблей, расположенных горизонтально.

У самцов лопатки появляются примерно в возрасте 5 лет, хотя у некоторых особей они не развиваются. Самцы с лопатами — это лопаты, а без лопат — лосиносцы (такая форма чаще встречается у польских лосей). Хорошо развитые рога могут достигать длины до 1,2 м при размахе крыльев 2 м и массы до 20 кг.

Лоси сбрасывают рога после брачного сезона: старшие — в ноябре, молодые — в декабре и январе.

11

Лоси передвигаются медленно и неуклюже, обычно на шагу (поднимают обе конечности с одной стороны тела одновременно, как лошадь на рыси).

Они никогда не скачут галопом, могут бежать рысью со скоростью 30 км/ч, а на короткие дистанции — со скоростью 60 км/ч.

12

Лоси наиболее активны ранним утром и вечером, хотя кормятся и днем, и ночью.

Он не проявляет территориального поведения и для жизни ему требуется 10-15 км2 площади. В поисках пищи преодолевает большие расстояния. Во время зимних кочевок, перемещаясь с севера на юг, лоси преодолевают расстояние до 200 км и более.

13

Брачный период лосей называют брачным периодом.

Самка, начавшая течку, зовет самца слезливым гнусавым рыком. Самец, ищущий самку, не тратит времени на кормление и за период течки может потерять до 1/5 массы тела. Эструс длится около 4 недель: с августа по октябрь в Евразии и с сентября по ноябрь в Северной Америке.

Самцы конкурируют за самку, хотя драки между быками у лосей происходят гораздо реже, чем у других оленей, и менее зрелищны. Быки выстраиваются лицом друг к другу, набирают скорость, опустив головы, а затем сталкиваются рогами. Победителем становится тот, кому удастся продвинуть противника дальше.

14

Брачный сезон лосей длится с сентября по ноябрь.

Самки становятся половозрелыми в возрасте 2 лет, а самцы — в 3 года. Беременность длится 242-264 дня, на свет появляется 1-3 детеныша. Детёныши рождаются красно-коричневые, без пятен. Они около 80 см в длину и одинаковой высоты. Они могут следовать за своей матерью уже через три дня после рождения. Кормление молодняка может продолжаться до следующей течки, но твердую пищу они едят и с трехмесячного возраста.

Половина рожденных малышей не доживают до первых двух месяцев, а те, что остаются, остаются с матерью до следующего года.

15

Лоси – травоядные животные.

Они добывают корм и могут есть многие виды растений и фруктов. Среднестатистическому взрослому человеку необходимо потреблять 9770 ккал в день, чтобы поддерживать свой вес. Большую часть энергии лоси получают от зеленых растений, трав, осоки, свежих побегов ивы и березы. Эти растения имеют низкое содержание натрия, поэтому лоси охотно питаются водными растениями (лилиями, рдестом) и болотными растениями, содержащими больше натрия. Зимой лоси часто выходят на дорогу, чтобы лизнуть соль, которой посыпают дороги. Рацион лосей зависит от их местонахождения, но они, похоже, предпочитают молодые поросли лиственных деревьев с высоким содержанием сахара, таких как белая береза, трясущаяся осина и полосатый клен.

Типичный лось весом 360 кг может съесть до 32 кг пищи в день.

16

У лосей нет верхних передних зубов.

Однако на нижней челюсти у них восемь острых резцов. У них также твердый, грубый язык, рот и десны, которые помогают им есть древесную пищу. У лосей есть шесть пар больших плоских коренных зубов и шесть пар премоляров перед ними, чтобы перемалывать пищу.

17

Лоси не являются пасущимися животными.

Они, как и жирафы, тщательно выбирают пищу с меньшим количеством клетчатки и большей концентрацией питательных веществ. В отличие от большинства копытных, одомашненных жвачных животных лоси не переваривают сено, и кормление лосей сеном может быть смертельным.

18

Самый опасный естественный враг лося — серый волк, который регулирует численность популяции, поедая наиболее слабых особей.

Врагами лося являются также бурый медведь и амурский тигр, а также человек. Начиная с каменного века, люди охотились на лосей ради мяса и шкур, а также использовали их рога для изготовления инструментов и украшений. Мясо лося называют мясом лося. Лосиное молоко содержит 10-15% жирности и может быть использовано для приготовления сыра.

Лосей легко приручить, поэтому издавна предпринимались попытки использовать этих животных, например, для получения молока — на старинных рисунках изображены сцены доения лосей. В XVIII веке в Швеции лосей всерьез рассматривали как животных, заменяющих лошадей почтальонам.

19

Шведы использовали лосей в армии как тягловых, вьючных и верховых животных.

С 30-х годов предпринимаются попытки одомашнивания лосей первоначально с целью использования их в армии (в СССР были созданы экспериментальные лосефермы), а также в сельском хозяйстве. 

Узнать больше …

Предыдущая
Интересные фактыИнтересные факты о польской лошади
Следующая
Интересные фактыИнтересные факты о морских свинках
Супер
0
Интересно
0
Плохо
0
Обсуждения

Без Тараканов

×